Beat LA

Narnack Records and Greatminds Records are thrilled to announce the release of Beat LA, a very special collection of songs from classic SoCal artists performed by contemporary artists from the Los Angeles underground. A full tracklisting is below. Proceeds from the album will benefit Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF), and their life-saving endeavors helping those adversely affected by the devastating earthquake in Haiti.

Download Crystal Antlers’ cover of Black Randy & The Metrosquad’s “I Slept In An Arcade” For Free Via Pitchfork.

On Tuesday January 12th, 2010 the world was rocked by news of a catastrophic 7.0 earthquake in Haiti. It killed a staggering 230,000 people, injured a further 300,000, and left 1 million without homes. After seeing the shocking footage of the aftermath on the news, like many, Narnack Records founder Shahin Ewalt with Toddrick Spalding and Angel Mendoza of Greatminds Records were inspired to help the victims of the quake.

Self-confessed music nerds and stalwarts of the Los Angeles music scene, the trio began making calls to their friends. The result is Beat LA, a collection covers by current LA artists featuring songs written by alternative, punk and rock musicians of the past that helped defined the LA-sound. “We’ve managed to pull together an amazing cross section of underground music in Los Angeles and are excited that this compilation will be a true document of our music scene,” says Spalding.

Classic songs from the likes of Wall of Voodoo, X, The Germs and Gun Club have been covered by an eclectic selection of contemporary artists who call Los Angeles their home, including experimental electronic geekmaster Boom Bip, folk rocker Imaad Wasif, Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist Josh Klinghoffer and indie rock / noise pop duo No Age, among many others. All songs were donated by the artists. Proceeds from the compilation benefit Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF), one of the leading relief organizations working in Haiti.

Beat LA was curated by Toddrick Spalding, Angel Mendoza, and Shahin Ewalt. Liner notes have been written by LA punk legend Geza X. “LA had a FANTASTIC underground scene for a few years, say 1977 to 1982. It never got properly documented but it was huge and it was fun. These songs were part of the soundtrack of my life back then,” says Geza X. “But there is more to it. This is a healing project too…This album is one of many goodwill gestures people have come up with to help out. The political problems of the Western Hemisphere may be too much to tackle as individuals. But human problems sometimes wake the world up to the need to pull together and do something. I invite you to enjoy this great album and remember the good we can do if we all pitch in, even if all we can do is a little.”


1. Jarret Silberman – “I Hear Your Heart Singing” / The Gun Club
2. Rats – “The Unheard Music” / X
3. Modern Memory – “Brave Captain” / Firehose
4. Brother Reade – “Do You Want New Wave Or Do You Want The Truth?” /Minutemen
5. Imaad Wasif – “Go Insane” / The Doors
6. Bobb Bruno – “Scratch Out The Sky” / Distorted Pony
7. Slang Chickens – “Romeo’s Distress” / Christian Death
8. Nathaniel Eras – “Gidget Goes To Hell” / Suburban Lawns
9. Boom Bip (w/ Buck 65) – “Lost Weekend” / Wall of Voodoo
10. Microphonies – “We Got The Beat” / The Go-Gos
11. Devon Williams – “Yellow Pills” / 20/20
12. Josh Klinghoffer – “Anymore” / Thelonious Monster
13. Crystal Antlers – “I Slept In An Arcade” / Black Randy & Metrosquad
14. No Age – “Male Masturbation” / The Urinals
15. Geisha Girls – “Dream Hits II” / 45 Grave
16. Nonon – “White Girl” / X
17. Signals – “Richie Dagger’s Crime” / The Germs
18. Lords Of Altamont – “Knock Knock” / The Humane Society
19. Night Horse – “Lie Beg Borrow and Steal” / The Plimsouls
20. Angus Khan – “Rock Fight” / Cheech & Chong
21. Anglos – “Days of Wine and Roses” / Dream Syndicate
22. Lucky Dragons – “Alien Point Of View” / Nervous Gender


Recent News:

  • Six-Year Anniversary of the 2010 Haiti Earthquake (1/12/2016) - Six years ago today, a magnitude 7.0 earthquake struck Haiti, causing massive devastation and a humanitarian aid crisis. Estimates range from 100,000 to 316,000 dead, and more than 1.5 million people displaced from their homes. The outpouring of support from the global community was immense. In 2011 we released a limited edition double LP to benefit Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders), called Beat LA – A Benefit For Haiti. The […]
  • Friday the 13th Sale (11/13/2015) - Happy Friday the 13th everybody. To celebrate, we are having a sale of 13 of our favorite releases for 13 percent off, and it’s starting today (the 13th) and ending Monday. Here’s whats on sale: Lee “Scratch” Perry – Repentance 2x LP Coachwhips – Double Death LP and DVD EFG – EP 1 EFG – EP 2 Garrett Pierce – City of Sand 180 gram LP Beat LA 2x LP […]
  • Sat 12/1 EFG @ Down And Out (11/28/2012) - Electric Flower Group – playing this Saturday, December 1st w/ Moon Duo & Phil Manley Life Coach @ Down And Out , downtown Los Angeles. This is a hell of way to start off Dec.and we’re in. Come join us and witness EFG’s high voltage live show. Hearing is believing and seeing will turn to visions of what will come to be.  EFG is a modern psychedelic rock band based in Los Angeles. […]
  • Beat LA: A Benefit for Haiti Out Now! (9/28/2011) - Also available on 100% of all proceeds from the CD, 2xLP and digital downloads goes to Doctors without Borders to help the people of Haiti.
  • Beat LA: “A love letter to the City of Angels” – Josh Klinghoffer (8/15/2011) - Wanted to let you all know about a special project I recently worked on called BEAT LA. It is a love letter to the city of Los Angeles AND a benefit compilation to help Doctors Without Borders and their continued work to help the people of Haiti and other disaster stricken areas. It is available digitally worldwide, and will soon be available in both vinyl and CD formats. The concept […]